NZ govt's new cabinet sworn in
Written by ACM   
Saturday, 17 December 2011

New Zealand Prime Minister John Key's new cabinet is meeting for the first time after ministers were sworn in by Governor-General Sir Jerry Mateparae.


This report was broadcast across Australia and New Zealand by Sky News 0n 14 December, 2011.

Governor-General Sir Jerry Mateparae handed out the warrants for 20 cabinet ministers and eight ministers outside cabinet at a Government House ceremony on Wednesday.

Mr Key formed his government after signing support agreements with ACT, United Future and the Maori Party, which gave him 64 votes in the 121-member parliament.

Parliament meets on Tuesday next week, when MPs will be sworn in, and opens on Wednesday when Sir Jerry will read the speech from the throne setting out the government's legislative agenda. Ministers take oath as PM rejects rift